What was the first thing you thought of upon waking up? LOL. Prompts.

‘In the dream world, is it a bad omen when an alligator bites your dad’s foot off” was technically the first thing I thought about when I woke up. But the questions flung on. Does it help to know he was on a ski lift? Should I tell my dad about that dream? Maybe it was a crocodile. What’s the difference between a crocodile and an alligator? Should I know that? I should google that in case I should know that. [I do not google that]. But what if I did.
Remember when Albert Einstein said “The important thing is to not stop questioning. Curiosity has it’s own reason for existing.” I certainly don’t remember Albert saying that but Thursday probably does. Because like curiosity, Thursday also has its own reason for existing these days. #TBT, you guys.

Which means, if we place curiosity on a stretcher and roll its reason for existence alongside Thursday into the minds of millennials we might just reach- text conversation starters. I may not be right…but am I totally wrong? Certainly not for me who seems to text everything I “could literally just google” — as quoted by that one person never sympathetic to my subconscious desire for immediate interrelation by way of a debatably personal medium. I wonder where I read the article that discussed that? I should google it. [I do not google it].

I wish I would though. ‘What if we googled everything we wondered’ is the thought I more or less rotisseried through my mind upon waking up. I, for one, would be a much smarter human. I would know things like – the difference between a crocodile and an alligator. You could ask me what’s wrong with my car. I could share the best way to get rid of mothball smell- which I’ve lazily [not-googled-ly] concluded is to simply not use mothballs in the first place. If you don’t know what mothballs are, google them. You didn’t google them did you? But what if you did?

It’s overwhelming to think just how much knowledge we could acquire by googling everything we wonder. We use google a lot. But even more than we use google…we do not use google. Mind-blowing, eh. If we googled all of the questions we impatiently but certainly not apologetically sent in a text…well, maybe we’d all be Alberts. Albert didn’t sit around writing his friends inquiring about the solution to his physics problems (I know. He didn’t google either, blah blah blah). A response would illicit weeks which is essentially the same amount of time we exaggerate it takes when waiting for a text we thought would arrive quicker.

They say you can’t know everything but with google we can certainly try. Though, I’d have to wonder if it’s worth it? Is the potential knowledge more valuable than a connection (albeit virtual) with another human? Google can’t answer that. But maybe you can because I’m out of words.

And presumably, you don’t know if my roommate left me some coffee in the pot? Neither does google. So I send off with a text.

Leave a Reply

