Hey. It’s me. I’m typing (because this certainly can’t be considered writing) from a bed. This bed belongs to the son of a retired New Orleans homicide cop. Irish, he’d tell you. No, I’m not in New Orleans. No! I did not share the bed with his son. My canoe is right by the Motiva plant on the west bank before the Sunshine Bridge. If it sounds like I know what I’m talking about it’s because I probably do. This busy but definitely not fast commute in these last 200 miles has given me the chance to get to know the industrial aspect of the river. More importantly, where the money’s at! Whenever I’m bored these days, my back up plan is to sit back and look at every ocean vessel, barge, plant, tug, tow….and try to grasp just how much money is flowing up and down the river at that moment. It’s crazy. Crazy I tell ya! Actually, the new bridge in Baton Rouge was purposely built lower than its predecessor to keep the ocean ships from traveling up into Mississippi. Keeping the money in Louisiana…way to look out for your people, governor. Soon, I’ll pass Marathon…the largest oil refinery in the world which will be pretty cool. They don’t have Marathon gas stations down here. Just the refinery. And I’ve noticed Marathon is so big they don’t contract all of their barges out. They have their own fleet! Powerhouse. Yesterday, I got on the river early but didn’t make it far with the wind. I called my dad in tears frustrated that I’d have to sit around for two days (because the following day (today) said the winds would be higher) and make it nowhere when I AM SO CLOSE. My dad said you can’t do anything about the wind so spend your time accepting you’ll be sitting around and find yourself something to do. I did.
I walked 5 miles into town and found a charge and a coffee. That’s where I met Jimmy, the cop. He and his wife Debbie let me shower and do laundry. They took me to breakfast for things I can’t even pronounce in a little Cajun village and later we are going to lunch at an old plantation. I also got to check out a sugar cane harvest and learned about that industry. It’s been sitting at 21cents a pound for the last 30 years says Pete. I could write an entire paper (not in a bad way, an interesting way) on sugar cane and how Mexico sells their sugar to us but imports theirs from the world market at 12cents. The United States is the second largest importer of sugar in the world, did you know? Aaaand the farmers…well actually, that really cool information would take to long to explain and I’m losing my attention in this update.
Jimmy knows a man with a sailboat in one of the three marinas in New Orleans…which means things for all you who know other things.
Okay. Well. I’m okay. Just ready to be done. Get my stuff back to New Orleans and fly home for Christmas…say hi…pick up Maggie and bring her back to NOLA. But first, I need to make hella (is that still a term?) miles tomorrow.

IMG_2553.JPG

IMG_2561.JPG

IMG_2545.JPG

IMG_2563.JPG

One thought on “

  1. DONALD PAUL NELSON

    Hi Grace,
    I saw your dad on Sat at Colton’s hockey game. It was good to see him.
    I am Nancy Maloney’s aunt. I am a sister if her mom who died. We live in North Oaks.
    You are amazing! I will be so glad when I hear that you are home safe!!!
    You are almost done. What a wonderful time to be home. Christmas- my favorite time of year!
    Cathy Nelson

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

