Killing Curiosity

I’m going down the river. The Mississippi, of course. What other river would I be talking about? Source to Sea as they call it. Pretty funny because the river actually seems like a great source to see the ocean. Some people enjoy puns. I’ve already seen the ocean. Car, foot, plane, maybe even a bike. Doesn’t matter. I was just acknowledging the pun, anyway.

I don’t think I’ll give you an introduction. My expected following already knows who I am, making the introduction schpeel even more pointless, mundane, and against Harper Lee’s advice. She once said, “As a reader I loathe introductions…Introductions inhibit pleasure, they kill the joy of anticipation, they frustrate curiosity.” You see? If I introduce myself, hitting each bullet point about who I am, how I came to be, maybe respond to the ubiquitous (recognize that word Lucy?) question of why, blah blah blah, then you guys will be less enthused to check up on me which I can only assume you love me enough to do occasionally. And anyway, people who know me well enough don’t bother to ask ‘why’ anymore…probably because the curiosity is killed immediately after my plan is shared which is entirely a result of my inability to follow through with any idea my fleeting mind cultivates. It’s a big reason I’m starting to write some notes now…the hardest part of this trip will simply be beginning. Following through. It’s a phenomenon I struggle with more unconsciously than not. Although, it eventually develops to a conscious recognition of my failure to complete yet another something started and consequently- I disappoint myself. This is getting too revealing. And I want to nix the need to explain myself. Explaining is for people who aren’t confident in their character. Or for people with introductions. And people with introductions probably don’t have a good story to share or they would skip the introduction and get right to the good stuff. I don’t have a good story to share which is exactly why I have this introduction. Whatever.

I’m paddling down the Mississippi River.

Leave a Reply

